Start a new topic

[All] Attach Documents

The product really needs the ability to attach documents and have them sync to all devices.  I would like to be able to forward emails with attachments and have them show up in the inbox.  This would also be very helpful when sharing tasks among team members.

75 people like this idea

I'm going to get slammed for this, lol, but I retract my original (admittedly flip) statement "attachments are a must".

I am a software developer and have tried virtually *ALL* the GTD software options out there. In fact, I currently even have fully paid subscriptions to GetItDoneApp, Nirvana, and Todoist. Both Todoist and GetItDoneApp support attachments. I thought I really needed this feature; turns out I was wrong.

I really like the posts of user Peter Watters. His post: http://support.appigo.com/support/discussions/topics/74085 really changed my views and indeed, my fundamental use of GTD. I actually went back and re-read the book! Read that post, near the bottom where he talks about attachments. He is spot on.

Frankly, attachments in a GTD app turn into a quagmire just like your office email app where everyone is forwarding attachments and the email thread becomes like a massive tangle.

Peter notes: "Any files I create as part of my tasks or projects are stored wherever they belong, e.g. on the sever at work or for personal files, on my Macbook at home. I just file them in the appropriate folder so I always know where to look, same as I would do for hard copy files following the David Allen GTD recommendations."

This fundamentally changed my views on using GTD software. Of course you want your reference material where it belongs. I certainly don't want my source code snippets anywhere near my GTD software; I want them in my code repository. Maybe I have a link to that in the GTD software but that's it.